Panda Cloud Antivirus Beta (free and easy)

Cloud computing is a style of computing in which dynamically scalable and often virtualized resources are provided as a service over the Internet. Users need not have knowledge of, expertise in, or control over the technology infrastructure in the “cloud” that supports them.

– Wikipedia

Panda Security SL
Image via Wikipedia

I felt the urge to define Cloud Computing first before I say anything. This computing style may seem new and hype but it isn’t, what I mean is, it has been around for sometime. Computer security is primary. With the advent of viruses, spams, trojans and malwares there is no reason not to protect your computer. And speaking of protection, one way to deal it with is by installing an Anti-virus (AV) or an AV with a firewall.

Panda Antivirus is planning to change the game with their recent release of a cloud computing based AV. Conventionally, AVs are locally installed on our PCs pulling out anti-virus signatures periodically from the servers of the AV vendor. Panda has a different approach, they give you a client AV application, allow the client to connect to their servers where the signatures are hosted and let their servers manage the protection of your PC from their side allowing you to enjoy reduced resource usage. A bit clever, right?

Panda Cloud Antivirus is at the same time free and a well supported application and for that I am impressed. Avast and AVG have free versions alike but I like the twist Panda Cloud has. Its easy, free and pretty straight-forward.

Here are my observations:

  • Installation and setup is a breeze. Plain and direct. No adwares considering that it’s free.
  • Updates not required, less nagging. Panda Cloud is a silent killer. It doesn’t nag you at all. Sits right on your taskbar, once installed it goes to work right away.
  • Panda Cloud relies much on Internet connection, why? The app natively is cloud based. It needs to connect with Panda servers to optimally protect your PC. I have made a little research on this because I was threatened specifically on this point – What will happen if I disconnect from the world wide web? Will the app continue to protect my PC? And the answer is, Yes.

An excerpt from Panda Help, says:

What happens if my computer is not connected to the Internet?

Panda Cloud Antivirus is a security service that protects your computer thanks mainly to the Collective Intelligence hosted on our servers. So, in order to take full advantage of the detection capacity of Panda Cloud Antivirus, your computer must be connected to the Internet. Otherwise you cannot connect to our servers.

Nevertheless, this does not mean that Panda Cloud Antivirus will not protect your computer when you are not connected to the Internet. In this case, Panda Cloud Antivirus will protect your computer against the most common threats in circulation.

  • Free version is promised even if the application comes out of Beta, that, hell is good news. Free!

Honestly, this security software has not reached the Number One Anti-virus rank, yet. But I like it and I like the maker too. One for being innovative, two for allowing the application to be free which makes me wonder how they will get revenues out of the venture – that one is not for me to talk about, I think.

The website is here if you want to dig deeper. More on CLOUD COMPUTING is here, provided by Wikipedia. As usual, the app maybe downloaded from our download links page.

And I am done. I hope you enjoyed. Thanks for reading.

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “Panda Cloud Antivirus Beta (free and easy)

  1. martz says:

    Hi, thanks for your comment. I am using it too. I even recommended it to some friends. I hope it stays free.

  2. Pete Chapman says:

    I have it installed since early june and it works great. They have just released a Beta2 …

Leave a Reply

