My best loved Firefox plug-ins

Firefox has a huge plug-in base. On its new add-ons site you will find a plethora of nifty tools to complement your Firefox browser, from alerts down to web development tools. Coming in to terms of the massiveness of plug-ins, there is, I think no competition, Firefox has loads of it, handsdown. For the simple me, I like the most three plug-ins that sort of, make me whole during my web activities. Let me show them to you.

1. Morning Coffee Version 1.33

This little plug-in sits near the address bar (just  close to where you type your choice of website). Simply, it keeps tracks of the websites (take note websites-with an “s”) that you want to load all at once at the same time. The idea is simple. Almost all of us have fave sites that we usually visit everyday. Take myself as an example, I usually check my facebook account, my blogs, my favorite sites, etc. I do this everyday, like taking my favorite coffee. I don’t want to miss articles or any information that I get from my own list of websites that I need to keep track of. Unfortunately unlike my coffee where I only need to pick up one cup, my favorite websites are a lot to keep clicking on and open them one by one. This is where Morning Coffee comes in, you can make Firefox remember your own list of sites and add it to your Morning Coffee and your websites gets opened altogether by just one click. Cool, right? There’s more. You can also configure the plug-in to load your sites of choice— daily, your choice of day or during weekends, it can also replace your homepage and display your Morning Coffee list of sites instead. Also, there is a buzz that they’re going to add a new feature which will allow us to have more granular Morning Coffee, like having a different list of sites for a specific time of the day. News in the morning, Sports in the afternoon! How is that for a list? Sweet!

2. Zemanta Version 0.5.7

Image representing Zemanta as depicted in Crun...
Image via CrunchBase

This extension really is handy, more so if you are into blogging. What this thing does is assist you by fielding in on-the-fly suggestion of images, articles, tags and links while you type. It allows you to re-use and link to other online content all by matter of clicks. Zemanta has really been useful to me on my blogging adventures, I bet it’ll do just the same to you as it did to me. Very much useful.

3. Download StatusBar Version 0.9.6.5

I am really a download maniac. Everytime I see applications, new and updates, I cannot turn down the urge to grab my own copy. Yet, I also don’t like being annoyed by Firefox’s download window getting in to my way while I am browsing. Download StatusBar has been my pill. It has given my browser a neat statusbar just below my browser so I can check its  current status, just what I really needed. Seemingly, I gained full control of my downloads with less interruption.

I know for a fact that there really are a gazillion of plug-ins that you can add to your Firefox and customize it to your own liking. All you have to do is check their add-ons site and I am sure you will find your match.

What then is your favorite Firefox plug-in? Tell me, so I can join the bandwagon.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

